The Church Building, History and Contents
A good case can be made for saying that a Church is not a building, but rather the group of people who use that building as a place in which to worship God. That is why these pages on our church building and its history come quite low in the navigation menu of the site, after the more important matters that concern people. Nonetheless, our building, perhaps like most churches, has a story that bears telling; for although St. Augustine’s is not architecturally distinguished, it does have an unusual and interesting history of dual use, some attractive woodwork and stained glass, and a magnificent tapestry.
The Church was built in 1858, and served as a chapel on Sundays and a school on weekdays for the next two decades. Its tower was a later addition, as was the north aisle. More recent additions include a vestry and a planned annexe. Most of the stained glass windows, except the windows in the tower, are explicit memorials to individuals and there are other memorials throughout the church, some to individuals, others group war memorials. Scaynes Hill was made a parish in 1930, and to celebrate its diamond jubilee a large tapestry was created, which is mounted in three sections at the east end of the church. The design of this tapestry is based around the Gospel of St John. There is also a sequence of paintings illustrating events in the story of the life of St Augustine of Canterbury.
For more information, and for photographs, you can use the navigation menu options that should now be available, or select a page from the following list: